Understanding of the age of consent in Florida is vital for avoiding sex charges. Make sure that you understand different states have different laws concerning consent.
The age of consent is the minimum age where a person can consent to sex or sexual activities legally. Florida has one of the highest ages of consent in the nation. According to Age of Consent, the age of consent in Florida is 18.
What does this mean?
This means that if you engage in consensual sexual intercourse in Florida with an individual 17 years of age or younger, the state may prosecute you for statutory rape.
Florida does have a close in age exemption law, or a “Romeo and Juliet” law. Florida law allows minors ages 16 or 17 to engage in sexual intercourse with partners no older than 23. If you are over the age of 23, this law does not apply to you.
What are the punishments for violating the age of consent in Florida?
Engaging in unlawful sexual activity with minors is a felony of the second degree in Florida. You may go to jail for up to 15 years. The same penalties apply if you share computer pornography with persons under the age of consent or commit “lewd or lascivious” offenses in the presence of persons under 16.
In the event that the sexual contact you have with a minor is not consensual, the state may charge you with sexual battery. This is a capital felony and may carry the death penalty. Being unaware of the age of consent laws in Florida can carry serious penalties.