Pseudoephedrine, a decongestant commonly used to relieve nasal congestion, is a popular ingredient for producing methamphetamine. Methamphetamine is a highly addictive stimulant with severe consequences for individuals and communities.
As a result, many states have strict regulations on selling pseudoephedrine, including Florida. See below for a brief overview of the restrictions and penalties for purchasing pseudoephedrine.
Regulations and limitations on purchases
In Florida, consumers must show a valid photo ID and sign a logbook when purchasing pseudoephedrine products. The record includes personal information such as the customer’s name, address and the quantity of the product purchased. Additionally, customers can buy no more than 3.6 grams of pseudoephedrine per day or 9 grams per 30-day period.
Consequences for purchasing or delivering
Purchasing too much pseudoephedrine can have legal implications, even though it is not considered a controlled substance. If an individual purchases more than the allowed amount of pseudoephedrine, they violate Florida Statute 893.1495. Delivering amounts of pseudoephedrine more than the amounts described in the statute is also illegal.
The penalty for a first-time offense is a second-degree misdemeanor. The maximum fine is $500. Second-time offenses are second-degree misdemeanors, with a maximum fine of $1,000.
If law enforcement officials suspect an individual has purchased too much pseudoephedrine for illegal purposes, they may investigate further. Additionally, pharmacies must provide law enforcement officials with their records of pseudoephedrine purchases.
Pseudoephedrine purchases in Florida are under strict regulation to prevent the production and distribution of methamphetamine. Individuals must follow the legal restrictions on purchasing pseudoephedrine to avoid potential legal consequences. If someone needs more pseudoephedrine than the allowed amount, they should consult their healthcare provider to determine alternative treatment options.